How to erase and reset your iPhone to factory settings


There are times when you may need to erase your iPhone, iPad, or iPod Touch, for example, if you’re upgrading to a new device and want to give your old device to a family member or exchange it for a new smartphone. This guide is designed to show you everything you need to know to erase iPhone quickly and safely.

If you want to erase or reset your iPhone or iPad easily and quickly, there are a number of things that you need to do in order for the process to complete properly.

Why do you need to erase n iPhone before selling it?

It’s a good idea to do this if you’re giving your iPhone to someone else or if you’re selling a device ad, as this will allow whoever gets your device to set up the phone as a new device. By following these steps, you will allow the next person who has your iPhone to set it up as a new device without any issues.

This will ensure that all your data and information is removed from the iPhone before you give it to someone else. This is important because it protects your private data and details so that no one can access them.

How do I wipe and reset my iPhone to factory settings?

The first thing you should do before erasing your iPhone or iPad is to backup your device, and this can be done by going to Settings > Click your name > iCloud > iCloud Backup > Backup Now. It is important that you take a backup of your device as this gives you the option to restore it if you need to in the future.

It is recommended that you Sign out of iCloud And the Your iTunes and App Store accounts and turn off Find My before wiping your device. These are important steps to follow to ensure that your accounts are removed from the device before erasing them.

You will then need to go to Settings > General > Reset > Erase All Content and SettingsYou may then need to enter your passcode if you are using one and then tap delete now.

Resetting your iPhone or iPad will take a few minutes, and you can then choose what you want to do with the device, and it can either be set up as a new device or restored from a backup.

If you intend to give your iPhone to someone else or sell it, you should choose “Set up as a new device” Selection. What this does is return the device to its factory state without any content or settings. The next person who has your device will be able to set it up in exactly the same way

You can find out more information about how to quickly wipe or reset your iPhone or iPad at Apple’s website. This guide was written using iOS 16.1 which is the current version of the iPhone software at the time of writing. If you have any questions or tips, please leave a comment below and let us know.

image rights: Aditya Chinchor

Filed under: Apple, Apple iPhone, Guides




disclosure: Some of our articles include affiliate links. If you buy something through one of these links, Geeky Gadgets may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more.

Latest Geeky Gadget Deals





Source link

Write a Reply or Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *